About Us
Board of Governors
Board of Governors
“The affairs of the University shall be managed, supervised and controlled by a Board of Governors.” (Section 7(2), Bill Pr34, An Act respecting the University of St. Jerome’s College)


The University is federated with the University of Waterloo.


The Role of the Board of Governors


This authority and oversight extends to the Board of Governors’ responsibility over the mission and vision of St. Jerome’s University. Specifically, the Board oversees the mission driven activity of the University, aligning the objects and reputation of the University with its foundational mission as a Roman Catholic university.


The Board of Governors’ oversight includes direction of governance matters such as policy, and business and financial affairs through the approval of operating budgets, with respect to revenue and expenditures, and management of property. It is the Board’s primary duty to ensure St. Jerome’s University fulfills its legal and financial obligations as an institution. In establishing accountability and transparent reporting processes with the University administration, the Board sees to the responsible management of the University by its administrators.


The Board of Governors are entrusted with the well-being and health of the University, and thus, must act in the best interest of the University.


Composition of the Board of Governors


The 22-member Board is comprosed of members from the broader community, the St. Jerome’s University faculty, staff and students, and representation from the Congregation of the Resurrection of the Ontario-Kentucky Province and the Bishop of the Diocese of Hamilton, thereby ensuring that multiple and varied perspectives are considered.


Fulfilling the Responsibility of the Board of Governors


To carry out the responsibilities of the Board of Governors, there are four standing Committees of the Board that report to the Board as a whole with recommendations for action and future direction.


Meetings held by the Board of Governors are open to members of the public, enabling them to be informed about the decisions made by the institution.


Please join us for our June 4, 2020 and June 11, 2020 meetings taking place online.
Members of the Board

The Board of Governors has up to 22 members including the Chancellor, the President (Vice Chancellor) of the University, the Provincial Superior of the Congregation of the Resurrection, the Episcopal Delegate, two faculty members, one staff member, one student member, and up to 12 members at large. One Board member must be a graduate of the University.


Bruce Rodrigues Chancellor
Scott Kline Interim President (Vice Chancellor)
Mary Ellen Cullen Board Chair, Member at Large
Mark Wendland Board Vice Chair, Member at Large
Anne Jamieson Episcopal Delegate
Rev. Murray McDermott, C.R. Provincial Superior Congregation of the Resurrection
Kathy Smidt Alumnus, Member at Large
Joe Varamo Staff Representative
Steven Bednarski Faculty Representative
Toni Serafini Faculty Representative
Frank Boerboom Member at Large
Ernest Doyle Member at Large
Cheri Chevalier Member at Large
Ken Lavigne Member at Large
Tony MacKinnon Member at Large
Ted McKechnie Member at Large
Michael Pautler Member at Large
Christopher Roehrig Member at Large
Laura Zilney Member at Large
Lauren Pazzano Student Representative, Students' Union President
Board Committees
Committee Charter
Mission Committee

Laura Zilney (Committee Chair)

Bruce Rodrigues

Scott Kline

Mary Ellen Cullen

Rev. Murray McDermott, C.R.

Anne Jamieson

Joe Varamo

Steven Bednarski

Toni Serafini

Chris Roehrig

Lauren Pazzano

Mission Charter 2016.pdf

Governance Committee

Tony MacKinnon (Committee Chair)

Scott Kline

Ken Lavigne

Mark Wendland

Governance Charter 2016.pdf
Executive Committee

Mary Ellen Cullen (Committee Chair)

Scott Kline

Mark Wendland

Tony MacKinnon

Ernie Doyle

Laura Zilney

Executive Charter 2016.pdf
Finance Committee

Ernie Doyle (Committee Chair)

Scott Kline

Mary Ellen Cullen

Mark Wendland

Frank Boerboom

Ted McKechnie

Finance Charter 2016.pdf
Audit Committee

Ernie Doyle (Committee Chair)

Mary Ellen Cullen

Mark Wendland

Frank Boerboom

Ted McKechnie

Audit Charter 2016.pdf
Board Meeting Agendas & Minutes
2019/2020 Board Meetings
Meeting Date
Meeting Agenda
Approved Meeting
October 3, 2019
December 5, 2019
December 5, 2019
February 6, 2020
Board Workshop
Board Workshop
April 2, 2020
April 2, 2020
June 4, 2020
June 11, 2020
* Please note that the June 4, 2020 and June 11, 2020 meetings will take place online. 
** The June 11, 2020 will be the Board of Governor's Annual General Meeting

2018/2019 Board Meetings

Meeting Date
Meeting Agenda
Approved Meeting
October 4, 2018
December 6, 2018
February 7, 2019
Board Workshop
Board Workshop
April 4, 2019
June 6, 2019
2017/2018 Board Meetings
Meeting Date
Meeting Agenda
Approved Meeting
October 5, 2017
December 7, 2017
February 1, 2018
Board Workshop
(no agenda)
Board Workshop
(no minutes)
April 12, 2018
June 7, 2018

For archived Board meeting agendas and minutes please contact the Office of the President.

Presidential Search

The St. Jerome's University Board of Governors has completed its Presidential Search. As outlined in the University's by-laws, a Nominating Committee was formed to lead the search for the next President and Vice Chancellor.


On March 13, 2020 the SJU Board announced the appointment of Dr. Peter M. Meehan as the 8th President and Vice Chancellor.